Belchen-Panorama-Route 112 Olten-Liestal

«No pain, no gain» is a popular saying that accurately describes this cycling tour. But it will be worth your while: the rewards for the countless climbs through the folds and plateaus of Baselland's Kettenjura and Tafeljura Mountains are the breathtaking views of the rich cultural landscape.  

Besides the beautiful landscape, many a song has been sung extolling the mountains and valleys (Bärg und Täli) of Baselland. The topography of the Belchen-Panorama-Route is quite demanding and certain to make you sweat. Those who prefer a more leisurely ride should take an e-bike. Once you get to the top of the Hauenstein pass after a short climb, you will soon have a panoramic view of the entire region of Basel, all the way to the French Vosges and the Black Forest. Along the folds of the Kettenjura Mountains – past impressive limestone formations and through lush forests – you will be treated to one panoramic view after another as you look out into the distance all the way to the Alps.

Riding uphill and down will make you hungry; good thing that the route is lined with rustic inns and farms that serve meals and snacks. Finally, those interested in cultural history will want to visit the quaint towns of Olten and Liestal, which will entice you to stay a while. 

Length | Number of stages
45 km | 1 Stage
Roads and trails
Asphalted: 39 km
Natural surface: 6 km
Ascents | Descents
1150 m | 1250 m
Fitness level
difficult

Belchen-Panorama-Route 112 Olten-Liestal

Comme on le dit si bien, «on n'a rien sans peine». Quel proverbe adéquat pour ce circuit cycliste! N'ayez crainte: les cyclistes sont amplement récompensés pour les très nombreuses montées: difficile de ne pas être séduit par la diversité de paysage aux panoramas surprenants.  

L'hymne du canton de Bâle-Campagne, le «Baselbietrelied», célèbre outre la beauté des paysages ses «montagnes et vallées». Il est vrai que la topographique rend la Belchen-Panorama-Route plutôt difficile. Attendez-vous donc à mouiller votre maillot! Si vous recherchez une randonnée moins fatigante, pourquoi ne pas opter pour un vélo électrique? Dès que vous aurez grimpé au niveau du col du Hauenstein, vous pourrez profiter d'une excellente vue sur toute la région de Bâle jusqu'aux Vosges françaises et à la Forêt noire. Le long de la chaîne jurassique, on longe d'impressionnantes formations calcaires avant de traverser des bois luxuriants. Les panoramas se succèdent, plus beaux les uns que les autres, le regard se perd dans l'horizon, entrapercevant les Alpes.

Les montées et descentes ne manqueront pas d'aiguiser votre appétit. Cela tombe bien: vous trouverez diverses auberges rustiques et autres possibilités de restauration dans les fermes des alentours. Enfin, les jolis villages médiévaux d'Olten et de Liestal recèlent de nombreux trésors d'histoire culturelle. Parfaits pour flâner.

Longueur | Nombre d'étapes
45 km | 1 Etape
Routes et chemins
Goudron: 39 km
Revêtement naturel: 6 km
Montées | Descentes
1150 m | 1250 m
Physiquement
difficile