Ruine Wartenberg

It is particularly worth visiting the Wartenberg, where the ruins of three castles from the Middle Ages await you. The towers of the the middle and front castles are now viewing towers, offering a fantastic panorama of the surrounding area.  

Three castles on a single ridge: this is what you have to look forward to at the Wartenberg in Muttenz.
The front Wartenberg is the biggest and most significant of the three castles. Its still-existing walls were built in the middle of the 12th century.The middle Wartenberg probably served as a residential and defence tower. During the Thirty Years’ War from 1618 to 1648 it served as accommodation for Basel troops. The rear Wartenberg was most likely erected in the 13th century by the Counts of Homberg. Its tower was restored in 1901 and given a wooden extension.
Behind the St. Arbogast village church, which is well worth a visit, runs a steep path that will take you up to the front Wartenberg in around 20 minutes. It’s another 15 minutes to get to the rear ruins. Barbecue facilities are available. 

auf Google Maps anzeigen

Ruine Wartenberg

4132 Muttenz

Ruine Wartenberg

Une excursion au Wartenberg est toujours passionnante : trois ruines médiévales vous y attendent. Les tours des constructions intermédiaire et avancée sont aujourd’hui aménagées en tours panoramiques et offrent une vue fantastique.   

Trois châteaux sur une même ligne de collines : voilà ce qu’offrent les ruines de Wartenberg à Muttenz.
La construction avancée était la plus importante et la plus remarquable des trois. Les murs encore visibles aujourd’hui ont été construits au milieu du XIIe siècle. La construction intermédiaire ne consistait vraisemblablement qu’en un logis et une tour de guet. Elle servit de lieu d’hébergement aux troupes bâloises pendant la Guerre de Trente Ans (1618–1648). La construction arrière a vraisemblablement été érigée au XIIIe siècle par les comtes de Homberg. Sa tour a été restaurée en 1901 puis agrandie avec une structure en bois.
Derrière la jolie église du village dédiée à saint Arbogast, un chemin de randonnée escarpé conduit à la construction avancée en 20 minutes de marches. 15 minutes de marche supplémentaires vous permettent d’atteindre les ruines arrière. Espaces pour grillades à disposition.

auf Google Maps anzeigen

Ruine Wartenberg

4132 Muttenz