Ruine Homburg

The impressive ruined castle of Homburg, situated between Läufelfingen and Buckten, is open to visitors and comprises several building elements. The large defence tower is three storeys high and gives an idea of the once imposing site.  

The Homburg ruin lies on the footpath/railway between Läufelingen and Buckten. It makes for a great place to visit. In 1240, Count Hermann von Froburg had the castle built to oversee traffic going through the Lower Hauenstein Pass, and he called it New Homberg. After a turbulent history, including a hundred years as the office of the bailiff, its fate was sealed in 1798 by peasants, who besieged it and burnt it down.
Between 2008 and 2010, the canton of Basel-Landschaft took on the renovation of the Homburg ruin in order to make it safe again for visitors. The residential tower, the oldest part of the site, has been restored to its original size.It is a great place to visit with children, and there are various barbecue facilities available. The footpath from Läufelfingen to the Homburg ruin has been turned into a themed trail as stories about the lives of the heroes of the Middle Ages are told in an entertaining manner via ten information panels

auf Google Maps anzeigen

Ruine Homburg

4448 Läufelfingen

Ruine Homburg

Constituées de plusieurs corps de bâtiments, les impressionnantes ruines de Homburg sont situées entre Läufelfingen et Buckten et sont en accès libre. La grande tour de guet de trois étages permet d’observer cet ancien site imposant.   

Les ruines de Homburg se trouvent sur le chemin de randonnée/ligne ferroviaire reliant Läufelfingen et Buckten. Elles sont idéales pour une excursion. C’est pour surveiller le transit sur le Bas-Hauenstein que le comte Hermann von Froburg a fait édifier en 1240 ce château fort qu’il avait baptisé Neu-Homberg. Au gré d’une histoire mouvementée, le château a notamment été le siège d’un baillage pendant des siècles, avant qu’en 1798 des fermiers ne scellent son sort en l’assaillant et en le réduisant en cendres.
Entre 2008 et 2010, le canton de Bâle-Campagne a entrepris une rénovation complète des ruines de Homburg afin de garantir la sécurité de ses visiteurs. La tour de guet, la partie la plus ancienne du site, est aujourd’hui encore tout à fait imposante. Elle constitue une destination d’excursion intéressante avec les enfants. Divers espaces pour grillades sont à disposition. Le chemin de randonnée entre Läufelfingen et les ruines a été aménagé sous forme de sentier thématique. Dix panneaux d’information racontent de manière divertissante la vie des chevaliers au Moyen-Âge.

auf Google Maps anzeigen

Ruine Homburg

4448 Läufelfingen